Pancake Crazy + Leg Workout

14 Nov

I am obsessed with pancakes. I literally make them almost every Saturday AND Sunday. We had breakfast for dinner tonight!  I love trying different types of recipes for pancakes and have found a recipe base of 4-5 different types that I regularly make. Your traditional flour and egg pancakes aren’t generally that good for you so I try to find protein pancakes or other pancakes that have more staying power and healthy ingredients so I’m not hungry again 5 minutes after eating them. However Austin doesn’t eat the healthy pancakes so I always use a traditional pancake recipe and make him separate pancakes every time (annoying, but I love pancakes so I do it).

Traditional Fluffy Pancake Recipe: Makes 4-6 medium pancakes

1/2 Cup Flour

1/2 Cup Milk

1 tbsp butter/shortening

1 egg

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tbsp sugar

Mix dry, then mix wet. Make pancakes on a 350 degree griddle. Yum!

I also have a couple of ‘healthy’ pancake recipes from different blogs that I’ve found. I rotate the pancake recipes depending on how I feel.

My absolute favorite, via Peanut Butter Fingers: Almond Butter Pancakes

Another close runner up, from Chocolate Covered Katie: Apple Pie Pancakes

These are yummy and really rich: Oatmeal chocolate chip cookie pancakes

Bahhh now I want more pancakes 😦 Is it Saturday yet????
Tomorrow I am going to be pretty sore considering I crushed a pretty serious leg workout. I can already feel them starting to turn to jello. I again modified this workout from one I found online on bodybuilding.com:

Leg Workout

-5 mins sprint on treadmill

-Squats with 2 15lb dumbbells- 2 sets of 12, 1 to failure

-Lunges with 2 15lb dumbbells- 2 sets of 10, 1 to failure (each leg)

-Split Squats with 2 15lb dumbbells- 2 sets of 10, 1 to failure (each leg)

-Straight Leg Dead lifts- 60lbs- 2 sets of 12, 1 to failure

-5 min run on treadmill

-Jump Squats- 2 sets of 20, 1 to failure

-Hamstring ball curls-3 sets of 20

-Crunches on exercise ball-3 sets of 20

-Leg lifts- 3 sets of 10 on each leg

Going to be sore tomorrow!

One Response to “Pancake Crazy + Leg Workout”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coconut Peanut Butter Pancakes « Classroom Confessional - November 19, 2012

    […] morning I got right to work to make a coconut flour pancake recipe…since I’m obsessed with them. I got this recipe from Dashing Dish, one of my favorite recipe blogs, but modified it a […]

Leave a comment

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Otherwise Simple

Living, Laughing and Staying Healthy...simplified

Laur Runs

Marketing Consultant by day || Lover of food, fashion, fitness, & living life to the fullest || Running around, attempting to balance it all 🤷🏻‍♀️

The Cave Woman Cafe

Going forwards by eating backwards

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

#PaleoThugLife

Recipes and rants in R-rated language

Reading Tea Leaves

Blogging about Tea, Teaching, and Rejuvination

The Cookie ChRUNicles

Running through life while balancing healthy eating and single motherhood

The PhD Experiment

Because at this point, my life is one big dissertation project

Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Sunnyside Counseling

The Change You Seek, For Yourself or Your Child

The Prime Pursuit

always in the prime of your life

blessedandblissful

Just another WordPress.com site