Pancake Saturday

1 Dec

It’s Saturday and that only means one thing:

pancakesat

I could hardly wait to get up this morning. It’s been a couple of weeks since we’ve been home on the weekend to make pancakes and sit around and be lazy so as soon as I woke up I had a one track mind. Today will be spent at home cleaning the disastrous mess our house has become from being away for a week and a half on vacation. Speaking of vacation, we’ve FINALLY decided where to book our honeymoon:

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana

(source)

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana in the Dominican. It’s a completely opposite type of resort that I originally wanted to go to. For the past couple of months we have been looking at places in Aruba. I originally wanted something that was low key, maybe more private and non-touristy. We even looked at private homes in which we would have our own little island and beach. However, we would have had to do our own grocery shopping and cooking. I’m not sure I want to be worrying about that during our honeymoon.

The reason we were originally looking at Aruba is because I had this idea that since we are going in August, we need to avoid places where a hurricane is possible. But none of the resorts in Aruba really got us interested.

Austin’s sister is a travel agent and sent us The Majestic Elegance resort in Punta Cana to look at. I would have completely dismissed it but the price was really below our original budget and it had great reviews. We get a swim up room and there is something like 13 bars in the whole place. It’s all inclusive and everything is already taken care of.

It’s weird because the first thing Austin said to me was he didn’t want to go to the Dominican or Mexico. LOL…but this place just fit the bill. We won’t have to worry about anything, there are a variety of things to do and the price is right.

I’m enjoying my coffee before heading down to the basement to do my Saturday workout. Good thing I had these babies to fuel me! Happy Saturday 🙂

asaturday

Question: Where did you go on your honeymoon? Any advice as to things you thought were important/not needed? Thanks!

2 Responses to “Pancake Saturday”

  1. Emily December 1, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    My husband and I spent two weeks in Europe and visited Reykjavik, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, and Copenhagen. We had a great time. We ended up splurging on nice hotels that were centrally located in each city, and I’m really glad we did that. I don’t think it was necessary to go for two weeks though. Looking back, we could have gone for a week to visit 2 or 3 cities, and it would have been just as nice.

    My brother- and sister-in law went on a tropical honeymoon and had a really nice and relaxing honeymoon. Your plans sound great!

    • aburgwin December 1, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      Thanks for the input- for some reason I have no desire to go overseas right now lol. I knew I wanted something beachy. We’re going for one week.

Leave a comment

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Otherwise Simple

Living, Laughing and Staying Healthy...simplified

Laur Runs

Marketing Consultant by day || Lover of food, fashion, fitness, & living life to the fullest || Running around, attempting to balance it all 🤷🏻‍♀️

The Cave Woman Cafe

Going forwards by eating backwards

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

#PaleoThugLife

Recipes and rants in R-rated language

Reading Tea Leaves

Blogging about Tea, Teaching, and Rejuvination

The Cookie ChRUNicles

Running through life while balancing healthy eating and single motherhood

The PhD Experiment

Because at this point, my life is one big dissertation project

Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Sunnyside Counseling

The Change You Seek, For Yourself or Your Child

The Prime Pursuit

always in the prime of your life

blessedandblissful

Just another WordPress.com site